The Race to Halve Food Loss and Waste by 2030

More than a third of all food is lost or wasted between the farm and the fork. This food loss and waste is a travesty in a world where 1 in 10 are undernourished, and it accounts for 8-10% of annual global greenhouse gas emissions. The numbers are worrying, but they aren’t the full story. Around the globe, pockets of action are accelerating and the race to halve food loss and waste by 2030  in line with the UN Sustainable Development Goals is gaining steam. 

This special virtual event from Champions 12.3 will highlight some of these pockets of action and what is needed next. 

From China to the United States to Africa, hear about national game plans as well as new announcements on financing, global supply chains, and more. You will have the chance to get a peek at upcoming news on consumer behavior change as well as ask questions of some of the world’s top leaders in the fight against food loss and waste.

The event will last from 10-11:30am ET / 4pm-5:30pm CET / 10pm-11:30pm China Standard Time & Singapore Standard Time. 

Webinar Recording

Champions in Attendance
Independent Chairperson of the Council at FAO
Co-Founder and Group CEO, Olam International Limited
Founder, Feedback
Member, WWF US Board of Directors
Chairman of the Managing Board, Rabobank
Chair Professor, China Agricultural University
Senior Fellow and Director, Food Loss and Waste, World Resources Institute
Founder, TROVE and Acre Venture Partners
Other Attendees
  • German Sturzenegger, Water and Sanitation Specialist, IADB 
  • Geeta Sethi, Advisor and Global Lead for Food Systems, World Bank 
  • Jane Nishida, Principal Deputy Assistant Administrator for EPA's Office of International and Tribal Affairs (OITA), US EPA 
  • Craig Hanson, Vice President, World Resources Institute (Moderator)