Accelerating National Public-Private Partnerships to Fight Food Loss and Waste

Countries have nine short years to meet their commitment to the UN SDG Target 12.3, which calls for a 50% reduction in worldwide food loss and waste. Achieving a reduction on this scale would bring enormous social, environmental and economic benefits – but accelerating action will take sophisticated partnerships between both the public and private sectors.

This virtual roundtable discussion hosted by Champions 12.3 and WRAP will explore how the UK and The Netherlands have developed public-private partnerships to fight food loss and waste that are already showing significant success. The event will also spotlight how South Africa, Indonesia and the United States are organizing partnerships that are responding to local circumstances.

Audience members will learn what it takes to accelerate national-level action, and what goes into a successful public-private partnership, plus and have the chance to ask questions of the experts.

The event will last from 10-11:15am ET / 4pm-5:15pm CET / 10pm-11:15pm China Standard Time & Singapore Standard Time. 

Webinar Recording

Champions in Attendance
Senior Fellow and Director, Food Loss and Waste, World Resources Institute
Other Attendees
  • Richard Swannell, International Director at WRAP 

  • Sanne Stroosnijder, Programme Manager Food Loss & Waste Prevention at Wageningen University & Research and part of the core team of the Dutch Foundation Food Waste Free United 

  • Matlou Setati, Executive: Food Safety Initiative of Consumer Goods Council of South Africa 

  • Indah Budiani, Executive Director of the Indonesia Business Council for Sustainable Development 

  • Pete Pearson, Senior Director, Food Loss and Waste, WWF